Patricia Smith

Welcome to Monarch Awards Foundation's website. 


We have worked diligently to create, build, nurture, sustain and expand our overall reach and impact on the lives of families, especially girls.

We pride ourselves on providing service to the community through programming focused on five target areas: (1) HBCU for Life: A Call to Action; (2 Women’s Healthcare and Wellness; (3) Building Your Economic Legacy; (4) The Arts; and (5) Global Impact.  

Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. is the oldest Greek-lettered organization founded by African American women. Our mission is to provide service to all mankind. 

We invite you to join us at one of our upcoming scheduled programs soon.  As the President of Monarch Awards Foundation, Inc.,“Thank You” for visiting our website and invite you to follow us on social media (Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.) 



Our History


Since 1988, Monarch Awards Foundation, Inc., has proudly established a rich history of serving Chicagoland's diverse communities .


 Established as a not-for-profit

501(c)(3) charitable organization with the purpose of implementing community service programs, scholarships and charitable donations to other not-for profits, our programs target six areas of need and include:

  • Youth Enrichment (especially girls)


  • Health and Wellness


  • Global Poverty


  • Economic Security

  • Human Rights

  • Social Justice



Our members also serve the community by implementing our signature programs which include: the "Martin Luther King Jr.  Day of Service",  "Easter EggStravaganza", "Community Expo featuring the Music & Arts Explosion", "Annual Community Feeding"  and the "Teen Esteem Program".



Since its inception, the Monarch Awards Foundation has awarded more than $1,000,000 in scholarships and donations to not-for-profit organizations.


Board of Directors


President - Patricia Smith

Vice President/Program Chairman -  Valerie Collins

Recording Secretary – Shannon Staton

Corresponding Secretary - Ieshe Washington

Treasurer -  Jennifer Ellis-Jackson

Financial Secretary -Nadine Ott 

Treasurer, Xi Nu Omega - Courtney Hill

Ivy Leaf Reporter, Xi Nu Omega-Susan Smith Ross


Gayla Agins-Howard
Priscilla Bennett-Guthrie
Latavia Richards



Bylaws - Marcia R. Williams

Connection- Kimberly Jenkins

Gala - Andreal Neal & Joanne Stiffic
Development - Brighette Anderson
Fundraising -Antonette Smith & Courtney Hill
Public Relations - Elizabeth Chambers
Scholarship - Saundra Washington
Technology - Nellie Gayle


Committee  Chairmen