Gerlanda L. Miller, CPA


Welcome to Monarch Awards Foundation's website. 


We have worked diligently to create, build, nurture, sustain and expand our overall reach and impact on the lives of families, especially girls.

We pride ourselves on providing service to the community through programming focused on five target areas: (1) HBCU for Life: A Call to Action; (2 Women’s Healthcare and Wellness; (3) Building Your Economic Legacy; (4) The Arts; and (5) Global Impact.  

Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. is the oldest Greek-lettered organization founded by African American women. Our mission is to provide service to all mankind. 

We invite you to join us at one of our upcoming scheduled programs soon.  


As the President of Monarch Awards Foundation, Inc.,“Thank You” for visiting our website.  You may also follow us on social media.




Our History


Since 1988, Monarch Awards Foundation, Inc., has proudly established a rich history of serving Chicagoland's diverse communities .


 Established as a not-for-profit

501(c)(3) charitable organization with the purpose of implementing community service programs, scholarships and charitable donations to other not-for profits, our programs target six areas of need and include:

  • Youth Enrichment (especially girls)


  • Health and Wellness


  • Global Poverty


  • Economic Security

  • Human Rights

  • Social Justice



Our members also serve the community by implementing our signature programs which include: the "Martin Luther King Jr.  Day of Service",  "Easter EggStravaganza", "Community Expo featuring the Music & Arts Explosion", "Annual Community Feeding"  and the "Teen Esteem Program".



Since its inception, the Monarch Awards Foundation has awarded more than $1,000,000 in scholarships and donations to not-for-profit organizations.


Board of Directors

President - Gerlanda L. Miller, CPA

Vice President/Program Chairman - Shannon Staton

Parliamentarian - Kelly Gant

Recording Secretary - Eula Sisco

Corresponding Secretary - Cherise Johnson

Treasurer - Baronica Roberson

Financial Secretary - Jennifer Ellis-Jackson

Treasurer, Xi Nu Omega - Courtney Hill

Rhonda Berryhill
Priscilla Bennett-Guthrie
Antonette Smith



Bylaws -Kelly Gant

Gala - Andreal Neal & Joanne Stiffic

Fundraising - Sydney Adams
Public Relations - Elizabeth Chambers
Development - Susan Smith Ross
Scholarship - Saundra Washington
Technology - Cassandra L. Cox


Committee  Chairmen